Enjoying Work

There is nothing better for a person than that he should eat and drink and find enjoyment in his toil. This also, I saw, is from the hand of God ESV Ecclesiastes 2:24

I’m blessed to have a job I absolutely love. Monday can be hard, but today I got to present the gospel to someone in my office (they hope to be baptized shortly). Then I spent some time studying the big picture in 1 John in preparation for my next series. Perhaps the highlight of the day was walking in the sanctuary, taking the names of every member of the church to the Lord and asking for His blessings on their lives. Yes, I’m blessed in the vocation God has given me.

Solomon agreed finding enjoyment in our toil was a blessing from God. He recognized God doesn’t always allow us to enjoy our work. Granted, there are days that people don’t respond to the gospel, that my mind wanders during prayer, and I have to lead meetings that go nowhere. However, on the days God blesses, I stop to thank Him for it. My prayer for you is that you are able to enjoy your work as well. God has given you unique talents and abilities and gifts. By His grace, I hope you have found a vocation that fits your unique nature and that by and large brings you joy. In that way, our work becomes worship, and is a celebratory part of our spiritual formation.

Remember, you don’t have to have a “ministry” job to worship God. If you love fixing cars, and God enables you to do that, then you get to enjoy your calling! Repairing cars involves understanding God’s creation and provides a service that blesses our fellow-man. Others of you are gifted in other ways, and you find great joy in managing a spreadsheet, or selling a product, or treating an illness. If you are able to enjoy your job, know this is a blessing from God.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

