A Calm Soul

But I have calmed and quieted my soul, like a weaned child with its mother; like a weaned child is my soul within me. Psalm 131:2 ESV

I write about this a lot, but perhaps it’s because it weighs heavily on me. On Saturdays I take time to reflect on the state of my soul, and for the past several months, it seems my soul has been constantly distracted, buffeted, anxious, busy, frazzled…. Most of it is good stuff, even spiritual stuff. However, in the midst of it, my mind especially has been constantly running to the point that I can’t stop and enjoy God. By His grace, this past week has been a week off; a week to spend with family, to cut off screens, to take a break from the pressures of daily life. In the midst of this, the coolest thing has happened. My joy in the Lord has resurfaced!

In the psalm referenced above David remarks that he has become like a weaned child–a picture so profound in its simplicity. An unweaned child constantly clamors for his mother to feed him, to meet his needs, to care for him. Only when a child has been weaned, can he simply lay in his mother’s arms at rest. David has reached a place where he no longer “occupies himself with things too great and too marvelous for me” (see v. 1). Instead, he simply occupies himself with pleasant thoughts of the LORD. For this reason, he concludes his brief psalm by encouraging Israel to “hope in the LORD from this time forth and forevermore.”

In a similar vein I’ve found myself this week simply taking delight in the LORD. As I have been able to remove myself from the things that so consume my thoughts, I have found the joy of the LORD naturally springing up within me. You have no idea how wonderful this is for me. Perhaps this is one of the key reasons we need regular vacations. We need time to quiet our souls and enjoy Jesus. As I prepare to return to “real life,” I’m determined to keep some of the distractions out so I can continue to enjoy the Lord. What about you? Would you describe your relationship with the Lord as a “weaned child” or a “screaming infant”? God is good. Rest in Him. This is spiritual formation.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

