Grace upon Grace

And from his fullness we have all received, grace upon grace. ESV John 1:16

Have you ever stopped and thought about the amount of grace God has lavished on us through Jesus Christ? It’s really an infinite amount. John even seems at a loss for words, with his comments almost trailing off….”from His fullness we have received grace upon grace upon grace upon grace…” God never tires of blessing us in Christ Jesus. Perhaps that’s why a huge part of our spiritual formation is learning to give grace to others. I think especially in marriage, learning to lavish grace upon grace on our spouse (especially from the husband to the wife) reflects the grace of Christ to us.

Ephesians 5 indicates husbands’ love for their wives should reflect Christ’s love for the church. As husbands, we have an awesome opportunity to demonstrate Christ to the world every time we lavish grace on our wives. For this reason alone, demonstrating grace forms us into Christ’s image–or perhaps its being formed in Christ’s image that allows us to administer such grace. Regardless, as men we can measure our spiritual formation in the amount of grace we show to our wives.

So, if showing grace comes easy for you (haha, leave a comment and tell me how you do it!), rejoice at the work of Christ in you. If you struggle to constantly live graciously toward your wife, ask God for the strength to administer grace upon grace. Look to the cross and meditate on what Christ did for you. In this way, the gospel transforms you into the image of Christ. From His grace then you can show grace. Remember Peter warns us that we if don’t live with our wives in an understanding manner, our prayers will be hindered. Hence, I spend much of my prayers asking for grace to live with my wife. God answers these prayers. Let me close with encouragement: nothing empowers me more than seeing the Holy Spirit at work in me allowing me to bless my wife. God will do the same for you if you only ask Him. And of course you know “Happy wife, happy life!” Let God’s grace flow through you to your wife today. Grace and peace my friends…

2 thoughts on “Grace upon Grace

Add yours

  1. I think showing grace has become easier for me once I truly received grace from someone else when I shouldn’t have. We can talk about God’s grace all the time, but wrong or right humans are hardheaded and sometimes until we are hit over the head with a 2X4, we don’t realize what grace is.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

