Giving Thanks

…For although they knew God, they did not honor him as God or give thanks to him… ESV Romans 1:21

Many people think of Romans 1 as the passage where Paul condemns those who fully reject God and are given over to a reprobate mind. To be sure, he addresses those things, but that’s usually not what grabs me in this passage. Just before Paul launches into all the “bad” sins that people engage in when they reject God, he makes a comment that deeply concerns me. He acknowledged people knew God since He revealed Himself in creation. However, even with this knowledge, they failed to honor Him, and even worse, they failed to give thanks to Him. This thought greatly concerns me and challenges my spiritual formation.

We generally all think of thanksgiving on the one day a year we set aside for that purpose. However, I’m not sure it’s a regular part of my life. Perhaps if I really knew God and grasped everything that He has done and continues to do for me, I would respond in constant thanksgiving to Him. Perhaps thanksgiving should be a regular part of my spiritual growth and discipleship. How do I become a more thankful person?

Generally, we have to think about thanksgiving. I faced temptation several times yesterday, and in each instance, God redirected my thoughts toward Him. I found myself responding in thanksgiving. We took a family trip with many stops today, and found everything we needed at each stop…yet another opportunity to give thanks. I enjoyed working around the house today, and was able to thank God for providing the home, my health and the tools I used. Each little prayer of thanks serves as a reminder that He is God and every good gift I have is from Him. These little prayers of thanks serve to shape my soul into a more thoughtful and grateful posture. Perhaps each act of thanks serves as a way to know God a bit more and to deepen my spiritual growth. Let’s thank God throughout today for His blessings.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

