Rust

Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, 20 but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. Matthew 6:19-21 ESV

A 2000 Chrysler Town and Country van sits in my driveway. I’m deeply attached to it. For the last 14 years, it has ferried my family everywhere. All of my kids came home in that van. My second son was born in the front seat! It has taken unsaved teens to the mall, friends to church, and kids to soccer. It’s been a great van. And now, it’s rusting. It has 194,000 miles, the brake lines and fuel lines are rusted, the side panel is rusting, the driver’s window is held up with coat hangers. It needs a new serpentine belt, new battery and new front brakes. The dash intermittently shorts out, the power locks don’t work (on the passenger side), and the ceiling cloth is drooping. In short, this van is done. And I wonder why I’m not getting any offers for it on my Craigslist post đŸ™‚

Stuff on earth rusts. Gives out. Breaks. And yet, even when Jesus reminded us of this, and even when we know to expect this, we still accumulate so much stuff. Worse yet, we look to that stuff to somehow fulfill us. Yes, stuff is great, even a blessing from God. Our van has been wonderful and I praise God for it. But our van is not god: it can’t satisfy and won’t last forever.

Part of the spiritual formation process is continually reminding ourselves that everything in life will rust. Even my “new” van (a 2012 Nissan NV Passenger that I absolutely love) will be rusting shortly. I must continually remind myself that my goal is to lay up treasures in heaven, not on earth. The things of earth are shiny and tempting, but through the gospel, I am reminded nothing surpasses the work of Jesus in my life. Vans will rust, but forgiveness remains. May we focus on eternal stuff today. Where our heart is, our treasure will be also.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

