Abiding in Christ

If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. John 15:7 ESV

How has your week been? I know mine has been good, yet busy and a bit disorienting. I’m trying to get regular blogging into my schedule and have also picked up a new obsession with playing a stock market game. I’m trying to get the hang of day trading. Add to this the challenge of kids approaching their teen years, and the challenges of leading a church and being involved with a non-profit, and then throw in a conviction to better reach the lost, add a crisis in my extended family, and you get a feel for my week.

I share this because through all of these things (mostly good, and godly and overall in line with spiritual formation), I have felt myself sliding ever so slightly from the gospel this week. My prayers were routine…tucked into runs and yoga routines since there seemed to be no free time for prayers. Checking the stock market interrupted other prayer times (and led me to cutting off a phone conversation with my sister). Frantically reading teen books to be a better father cut into actually wrestling my son. In short, I need a time to stop and re-calibrate. Some of that was spent in two hours reading on Saturday afternoon (my Sabbath), but most of it will come Sunday morning, when I rise early, run, pray, worship with my church family and partake of the Lord’s Supper. Through it all, I will be seeking to let Christ’s words abide a bit deeper in my soul, and my soul abide a bit deeper in Christ Jesus. This my friend, is what it all boils down to.

What about you? In your quest for spiritual formation, have your good intentions crowded out a deep abiding in Christ? May I encourage you that one of the key functions of the church is to guard against this. Joining with other believers to sing, pray, fellowship, study the Bible, and above all, take the Lord’s Supper is one of the ways God keeps our hearts sensitive to sin, forgiveness and the presence of Jesus Christ. May you spend time today with other believers making whatever re-calibration is necessary to follow the Lord Jesus this week.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

