Rest

It is in vain that you rise up early and go late to rest, eating the bread of anxious toil; for he gives to his beloved sleep. ESV Psalm 127:2

It’s ironic that I’m writing about sleep after midnight because I forgot to prep my post. 🙂 Overall, however, I’m slowly growing in this area as I slowly learn to rest in God’s power and rest. As a type A person, I’m used to working hard parenting, around the house, pastoring, etc. However, by God’s grace, I’m slowly learning that everything accomplished is through Him and now through me.

This realization brings great freedom. It means I can unplug and go to bed. It means I don’t have to check email. It means I can sleep at night, unhindered with cares and concerns of the day. Don’t get me wrong, I still worry at times, and yes, I usually check my email as soon as I get up. However, bit by bit, these actions are becoming less compulsive. After all, if I believe the Bible, I have to believe that this constant striving to achieve something is truly vanity. After all, doesn’t sleep sound better than anxious toil? And doesn’t Jesus promise rest to those who follow Him? If I claim to be a follower of Jesus, then perhaps I should stop trying so hard and simply rest in Him.

Could it be that much of our spiritual formation concerns the hard business of doing the easy stuff? After all, it seems that if we are truly to form our spirituality we should work all the harder. But perhaps we should work that most at resting. (Is that possible?). Perhaps true spiritual formation involves entrusting our souls to God (after all, isn’t that the basis of our salvation), and stop staying up late and rising early remaining anxious all the time. God gives sleep, and that’s where I’m headed now. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

