How do you use your time?

Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time… Ephesians 5:15-16 ESV

On Fridays we take stock of the “stuff” God has entrusted to us which includes our time. No doubt you have heard that we all get the same 24 hours in each day; what matters is how we use those hours. People constantly tell me how busy they are, and how much they really want to make changes in their lives, but haven’t been able to because they stay so busy. Such was the case with me….I’ve been wanting to start this blog for about three years. By God’s grace, He gave me a little challenge last year that changed how I utilize my time.

About 18 months ago, as I was raking leaves, I had a distinct thought that I can only contribute to the Lord. What if I would die in 12 months? How would I live my final year on earth? The thought was so clear to me, that I almost thought it may be prophetic, and it drove me to begin the process of which I blog. If I had to stand before God 365 short days from now and give an account of my life, what would I say? Suddenly, so many of the things I spend my time on seemed less interesting. Over the next twelve months, I began to love my kids more, spend more down time with my wife, not stress about home projects, and even to get my affairs in order (check my will, life insurance, etc.). While I didn’t get everything done that year I had hoped, it really was a changing point in my life.

What about you? Is your life slipping away day by day with all the stress and busyness and you find you aren’t accomplishing what you wanted? They say life is what happens to you while you are waiting for life to happen. Perhaps it’s time to seize control of your calendar and make the best use of the time as we are commanded in Ephesians. Yes, managing our time well is a part of spiritual formation. We know not how many more days we have on earth, so let’s walk carefully, making the best use of each one.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

