Spiritual Formation

For I long to see you, that I may impart to you some spiritual gift to strengthen you. Romans 1:11 ESV

For some time I’ve considered blogging, yet always spun out as I considered what area of life I would be passionate about. Recently, I realized my passions lie most in the areas of spiritual formation. While it seems fewer people consider themselves religious these days, nearly all of us consider ourselves to be spiritual people. As such, I want to interact with what spirituality looks like. What is the process of our spiritual formation? How can we grow spiritually? What spiritual gift might I have that would strengthen others?

In short, I believe we have two areas of our lives that deserve spiritual formation. The first is our core, or our inner life. It consists of ourselves (body, soul, mind), our relationship with God, and our relationship with our spouse. I’ll elaborate on this in future posts, but it’s most important to keep our core aligned and healthy. Secondly, we need spiritual formation in four other worlds: our offspring (children, grandchildren, etc.), our vocation, our relationships with others and our stuff. I probably should rename some of these categories, and perhaps that will be a part of this blog. However, it seems that nearly everything in my life fits within one of these seven areas. If I can develop each one to its greatest spiritual potential, then I feel I will have lived to the best of my potential.

Join me in this journey as we explore the nature of spiritual formation. I will commit to doing my best to help form your spirituality in each area of your life. Of course, our spiritual formation is a joint journey, so your interactions are critical to the process. I look forward to interacting with you as we seek deeper spiritual formation.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

