Faith

Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. ESV Hebrews 11:1

FaithMy wife may have the gift of faith. After all, it is mentioned in the list of spiritual gifts in 1 Corinthians 12 (and Paul ties the gift of prophecy proportionally to faith in Romans 12). However, our background led us to be skeptical that such a gift may exist. Thankfully, God in His mercy has slowly been opening our eyes to see that He does give faith to us. Eph 2:8-9 indicates that saving faith comes from God so why couldn’t the spiritual gift of faith come from Him as well?

This journey of discovering one of my wife’s spiritual gifts greatly encourages me. Our church added a service on January 4 (something that my wife believed should have happened six months ago). I was hesitant, not sure it would work or that people would embrace it. My wife on the other hand, confidently asserted God was leading us in that direction and that we needed to press forward with assurance. Sure enough, things ran incredibly smoothly yesterday, more people came than we have ever had on a regular Sunday (with numerous guests, including some who are still exploring what it means to follow Jesus). While I was pleasantly surprised, my wife wasn’t. In faith, she knew God would bless and accomplish great things.

It’s a joy to be married to such an incredible woman, and her faith builds my faith. I look forward to what God will do through her faith as He continues to give her assurance of things hoped for and the conviction of things not seen. After all, why should the spiritual gift of faith be such a hard thing for me to embrace? I am sure of my hope in Jesus Christ. I am convicted about the things concerning the gospel I cannot see. Why not embrace other areas where I can be sure of what I hope for? I can, especially when they align with God’s will. These thoughts encouraged me this morning.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

